

MEETING OF THE BENTLEY BOARD OF EDUCATION

BURTON, MICHIGAN

Organizational Meeting Minutes

Mrs. Angela Jackson, President Mr. Ty Burt, Vice President Mrs. Amanda Mobley, Secretary Mrs. Katrina Bailey, Treasurer Ms. Toby Bauldry, Trustee Mrs. Renee Gatica, Trustee Mr. Jon Woodruff, Trustee Date: Monday, January 13, 2020

Time: 5:30 pm

Location: HS Resource Center

I. CALL TO ORDER

The Organizational Meeting of the Bentley Board of Education was called to order at 5:32 p.m. by Mrs. Renee Gatica in the High School Resource Center, 1150 N. Belsay Road, Burton, Michigan, 48509.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

III. CITIZENS TO ADDRESS

There were no citizens to address the Board of Education.

IV. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

The floor was open for nominations for the office of President.

Motion by Ms. Toby Bauldry, supported by Mrs. Katrina Bailey, that Mrs. Angela Jackson is nominated for the office of President for the 2020 calendar year.

There were no other nominations for the office of President.

Mrs. Jackson accepted her nomination for the office of President for the 2020 calendar year.

With no other nominations for the office of President, nominations were closed for the office of President.

Angela Jackson Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Mrs. Angela Jackson is declared President of the Bentley Board of Education for the 2020 calendar year.

The floor was open for nominations for the office of Vice President.

Motion by Ms. Toby Bauldry, supported by Mrs. Renee Gatica, that Mr. Ty Burt is nominated for the office of Vice President for the 2020 calendar year.

Motion by Mrs. Angela Jackson, supported by Mrs. Amanda Mobley, that Mrs. Katrina Bailey is nominated for the office of Vice President for the 2020 calendar year.

There were no other nominations for the office of Vice President.

Mr. Ty Burt and Mrs. Katrina Bailey accepted the nomination for the office of Vice President for the 2020 calendar year.

With no other nominations for the office of Vice President, nominations were closed for the office of Vice President.

Roll Call Vote: Ty Burt – Burt, Woodruff, Gatica and Bauldry Katrina Bailey – Bailey, Mobley and Jackson

Ty Burt Ayes: 4 Nays: 3 Katrina Bailey Ayes: 3 Nays: 4

Mr. Ty Burt is declared Vice President of the Bentley Board of Education for the 2020 calendar year.

The floor was open for nominations for the office of Secretary.

Motion by Mrs. Katrina Bailey, supported by Mrs. Renee Gatica, that Mrs. Amanda Mobley is nominated for the office of Secretary for the 2020 calendar year.

There were no other nominations for the office of Secretary.

Mrs. Amanda Mobley accepted her nomination for the office of Secretary for the 2020 calendar year.

With no other nominations for the office of Secretary, nominations were closed for the office of Secretary.

Amanda Mobley Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Mrs. Amanda Mobley is declared Secretary of the Bentley Board of Education for the 2020 calendar year.

The floor was open for nominations for the office of Treasurer.

Motion by Mrs. Amanda Mobley, supported by Mr. Ty Burt, that Mrs. Katrina Bailey is nominated for the office of Treasurer for the 2020 calendar year.

There were no other nominations for the office of Treasurer.

Mrs. Katrina Bailey accepted her nomination for the office of Treasurer for the 2020 calendar year.

With no other nominations for the office of Treasurer, nominations were closed for the office of Treasurer.

Katrina Bailey Ayes: 7 Nays: 0

Mrs. Katrina Bailey is declared Treasurer of the Bentley Board of Education for the 2020 calendar year.

V. DISCUSSION ITEMS

a. Bond Update

Superintendent Spann discussed forming a twenty person Bond Steering Committee made up of staff, community members, and BOE members. The committee will meet four times. All BOE members agreed to form the committee.

ESCO Update

The contract from Sneider Electric still needs to be submitted to the District. Once we receive the contract it will be sent to Collins & Blaha for review.

VI. ACTION ITEMS

a. Designation of Liaison and Alternate to GCASBM

Motion by Ms. Toby Bauldry, supported by Mrs. Amanda Mobley, that the Board designates Ms. Toby Bauldry as the GCASBM Liaison and Mrs. Amanda Mobley as the GCASBM alternate as recommended.

Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Motion Passed: 7-0

	b.	Designation of 2020 Board Meeting Schedule Motion by Mr. Ty Burt, supported by Mrs. Renee schedule, as presented.		e Board approves the Nays: 0	proposed 2020 board meeting Motion Passed: 7-0	
c. Designation of Bank Depository Motion by Mrs. Katrina Bailey, supported by Ms. Toby Bauldry, that the Board of main depository for the 2020 calendar year, as recommended.				l		
			Ayes: 7	Nays: 0	Motion Passed: 7-0	
	d.	Designation of Legal Counsel Motion by Mrs. Angela Jackson, supported by M designated law firm for the 2020 calendar year			proves Collins & Blaha P.C. as the	
			Ayes: 7	Nays: 0	Motion Passed: 7-0	
	e. Designation of Election Official Motion by Mrs. Renee Gatica, supported by Mr. Ty Burt, that the Board approves the Superintendent as to election official for the 2020 calendar year.				Superintendent as the	
		,	Ayes: 7	Nays: 0	Motion Passed: 7-0	
	f.	Designation of Official Newspaper Motion by Ms. Toby Bauldry, supported by Mrs. A Burton View as their official sources of common				
	g. Board Compensation Rate Amount for 2020 Motion by Mrs. Amanda Mobley, supported by Mrs. Katrina Bailey, that the Board approves the current thirty do compensation rate per Regular, Special and Workshop Meetings for the 2020 calendar year. Ayes: 7 Nays: 0 Motion Passed: 7-0					
	h.	Continuance of Board By-Laws & Policies Motion by Mrs. Katrina Bailey, supported by Mrs. By-Laws and Policies, until such time as amer				
VII.	RECOM	MENDED ACTIONS (consent agenda)				
	Moti a. b.	,				
		,	Ayes: 7	Nays: 0	Motion Passed: 7-0	
VII.	ROUND a. b.					
VIII.	ADJOURNMENT Motion by Mrs. Angela Jackson, supported by Ms. Toby Bauldry, that the meeting be adjourned.					

VIII. AD

The meeting was adjourned at 6:20 p.m.	
	Amanda Mobley, Secretary
	Bentley Board of Education